Dodgy Pancreas

I’ve got a dodgy pancreas

It’s really got me irked

What’s the point in having a pancreas

If your pancreas doesn’t work

 

The Islets of Langerhan sound right exotic

But they’re there under your skin

Where the beta cells do their handiwork

Producing Insulin

 

Something beat my beta cells

That’s what’s got me so pissed

Around last march I got the flu

And The Islets went ‘fuck this’

 

Now I’m saddled with prescription bags

Needles in my backpack

Shooting up four times a day

And no – it isn’t smack

 

It’s just my dodgy pancreas

It’s really not my fault

But my daily treat of something sweet

Has been brought to a halt

 

I’ve got a lifetime ban on Lucozade

A fatwa on Fruit Pastilles

Some people think I’m bonkers –

That’s a quote from Dizzee Rascal –

 

But they don’t know

The difference between ‘hyper’ and ‘hypo’

Ups and downs like a yo-yo

On a go-slow cos I’m low on carbohydrates

Makes me weak, sweat, shake, confused, irate

And what I hate the most

Is having to stop mid-coitus for a slice of jam on toast

 

And drying my toes with talcum powder

‘always wear clean socks’

If you don’t do it your feet might smell

But they might have to chop mine off

 

And ‘ooh do you have to inject yourself?

‘I couldn’t do that’ they cry

‘okay, fair enough’ I say

‘then you’d just die.’

Like Ella, Bob Marley, Jonny Cash,

It’s a fucking long list, I’ve read it

It’s not quite the 27 club,

more a dancehall for dead diabetics.

Leave a comment